LGBTI global news 24-7

Jared Leto as trans woman in Dallas Buyers Club among Spirit Award nominees

Other LGBTI-themed nominees include Concussion, Blue is the Warmest Color and Pit Stop
Photo: Focus Features

Dallas Buyers Club, a film that tells the story of alternative AIDS treatments during the early days of the epidemic, garnered Spirit Award nominations this week for two of its stars.

Matthew McConaughey got a nod for best actor for his portrayal of a straight man infected with AIDS who goes outside the system to fund life-extending treatments.

His co-star, Jared Leto, was nominated in the supporting actor category for his performance as a transgender woman with the disease who becomes the unlikely business partner of McConaughey's character.

The film, one of several LGBTI-themed to get nominations, is based on a true story.

The lesbian-themed coming of age French film, Blue Is the Warmest Color, is one of the contenders for International Film. It was the winner of the Palme d'Or at the 2013 Cannes Film Festival.

The drama Concussion, about a suburban lesbian mom who secretly becomes a prostitute after a hit on the head by a baseball, earned a nomination in the First Feature category.

The gay-themed Pit Stop, about a pair of small town gay men who find love with each other, was nominated for the John Cassavetes Award which is given to the best feature made for under $500,000.

Among the nominees in the Best First Screenplay category is Afternoon Delight which features out actress Jane Lynch in a supporting role as a lesbian therapist.

The following is a complete list of nominees for the awards which will be handed out on 1 March, 2014:

Feature: '12 Years a Slave' 'All Is Lost' 'Frances Ha' 'Inside Llewyn Davis' 'Nebraska'

Director: Shane Carruth - 'Upstream Color' J.C. Chandor - 'All Is Lost' Steve McQueen - '12 Years a Slave' Jeff Nichols - 'Mud' Alexander Payne - 'Nebraska'

Screenplay: Woody Allen - 'Blue Jasmine' Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke & Richard Linklater - 'Before Midnight' Nicole Holofcener - 'Enough Said' Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber - 'The Spectacular Now' John Ridley - '12 Years a Slave'

First Feature: 'Blue Caprice' - Alexandre Moors - director/producer; Kim Jackson, Brian O'Carroll, Isen Robbins, Will Rowbotham, Ron Simons, Aimee Schoof, Stephen Tedeschi - producer 'Concussion' - Stacie Passon - director; Rose Troche - producer 'Fruitvale Station' - Ryan Coogler - director; Nina Yang Bongiovi, Forest Whitaker - producers 'Una Noche' - Lucy Mulloy - director - producer; Sandy Pérez Aguila, Maite Artieda, Daniel Mulloy, Yunior Santiago - producers 'Wadjda' - Haifaa Al Mansour - director; Gerhard Meixner, Roman Paul - producer

First Screenplay: Lake Bell - 'In a World' Joseph Gordon-Levitt - 'Don Jon' Bob Nelson - 'Nebraska' Jill Soloway - 'Afternoon Delight' Michael Starrbury - 'The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pete.'

John Cassavetes Award (Given to the best feature made for under $500,000) 'Computer Chess' - Andrew Bujalski, writer/director 'Crystal Fairy' - Sebastiàn Silva, writer/director 'Museum Hours' - Jem Cohen, writer/director 'Pit Stop' - Yen Tan, writer/director; David Lowery, writer 'This is Martin Bonner' - Chad Hartigan, writer/director.

Female Lead: Cate Blanchett - 'Blue Jasmine' Julie Delpy - 'Before Midnight' Gaby Hoffmann - 'Crystal Fairy' Brie Larson - 'Short Term 12' Shailene Woodley - 'The Spectacular Now'

Male Lead: Bruce Dern - 'Nebraska' Chiwetel Ejiofor - '12 Years a Slave' Oscar Isaac - 'Inside Llewyn Davis' Michael B. Jordan - 'Fruitvale Station' Matthew McConaughey - 'Dallas Buyers Club' Robert Redford - 'All Is Lost'

Supporting Female: Melonie Diaz - 'Fruitvale Station' Sally Hawkins - 'Blue Jasmine' Lupita Nyong'o - '12 Years a Slave' Yolonda Ross - 'Go For Sisters' June Squibb - 'Nebraska'

Supporting Male: Michael Fassbender - '12 Years a Slave' Will Forte - 'Nebraska' James Gandolfini - 'Enough Said' Jared Leto - 'Dallas Buyers Club' Keith Stanfield - 'Short Term 12'

Cinematography: Sean Bobbitt - '12 Years a Slave' Benoit Debie - 'Spring Breakers' Bruno Delbonnel - 'Inside Llewyn Davis' Frank G. DeMarco - 'All Is Lost' Matthias Grunsky - 'Computer Chess'

Editing: Shane Carruth & David Lowery - 'Upstream Color' Jem Cohen & Marc Vives - 'Museum Hours' Jennifer Lame - 'Frances Ha' Cindy Lee - 'Una Noche' Nat Sanders - 'Short Term 12'

Documentary: '20 Feet From Stardom - Morgan Neville, director/producer; Gil Friesen & Caitrin Rogers, producers 'After Tiller' - Martha Shane & Lana Wilson, directors/producers 'Gideon's Army' - Dawn Porter, director/producer; Julie Goldman, producer 'The Act of Killing' - Joshua Oppenheimer, director/producer; Joram Ten Brink, Christine Cynn, Anne Köhncke, Signe Byrge Sørensen, Michael Uwemedimo, producer 'The Square' - Jehane Noujaim, director, Karim Amer, producer

International Film: 'A Touch of Sin' (China) - Jia Zhang-Ke, director 'Blue Is the Warmest Color' (France) - Abdellatif Kechiche, director 'Gloria (Chile) - Sebastián Lelio, director 'The Great Beauty' (Italy) - Paolo Sorrentino, director 'The Hunt' (Denmark) - Thomas Vinterberg, director

Robert Altman Award (Given to one film’s director, casting director and its ensemble cast): 'Mud' Director: Jeff Nichols Casting Director: Francine Maisler Ensemble Cast: Joe Don Baker, Jacob Lofland, Matthew McConaughey, Ray McKinnon, Sarah Paulson, Michael Shannon, Sam Shepard, Tye Sheridan, Paul Sparks, Bonnie Sturdivant, Reese Witherspoon

17th Piaget Producers Award: Toby Halbrooks & James M. Johnston Jacob Jaffke Andrea Roa Frederick Thornton

20th Someone to Watch Award: 'My Sister's Quinceañera' - Aaron Douglas Johnston, director 'Newlyweeds' - Shaka King, director 'The Foxy Merkins' - Madeline Olnek, director

19th Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award: Kalyanee Mam - 'A River Changes Course' Jason Osder - 'Let the Fire Burn' Stephanie Spray & Pacho Velez - Manakamana'

Comment on a news story