Now Reading
All the winners of the first Scottish LGBTI Awards

All the winners of the first Scottish LGBTI Awards

LGBT Unity Scotland picking up their award

The first Scottish LGBTI Awards winners have been named – headed by daytime TV star Lorraine Kelly and the country’s First Minister.

First Minister and Scottish National Party leader Nicola Sturgeon was named Politician of the Year with the Event of the Year being the moment the country passed marriage equality.

Sturgeon said: ‘The last year has been momentous for Scotland and for the history of LGBTI equality with the introduction of one of the most progressive pieces of legislation in the world on same-sex marriage.

‘Since the legislation came into force, more than 1,200 same sex marriages have taken place in Scotland.’

Lorraine Kelly, the straight daytime ITV host, was recognized for her ‘significant contribution to LGBTI equality in Scotland’.

Kelly thanked her fellow nominees ‘who have done so much to help break down barriers’.

She said: ‘Everyone who comes on my show is treated exactly the same. I believe everyone is equal, everyone is of value and should have the chance to be themselves and to be happy.

‘I don’t understand why anyone would object to two people wanting to get married, declare their love for each other and have a right good party.’

Here’s the full list of winners:

  • Community Group of the Year: Ayrshire LGBTQ
  • Culture Award: The Glasgay! Festival
  • Diversity Award: LGBT Unity Scotland
  • Equality Initiative of the Year: LGBT Health & Wellbeing Age Capacity Building Project
  • Event of the Year: The legalization of same-sex marriage in Scotland
  • Journalist of the Year: Lorraine Kelly
  • Media Outlet of the Year: STV (News & The Riverside Show)
  • Outstanding Campaigner Award: Mridul Wadhwa
  • Politician of the Year: First Minister Nicola Sturgeon MSP
  • Public Body Initiative of the Year: Judicial Institute for Scotland
  • Sports Award: Pride House Glasgow
  • Staff Network of the Year: Gay Police Association Scotland
  • Student Group of the Year: Glasgow University LGBTQ+
  • Venue of the Year: The Waterloo Bar
  • Youth Group of the Year: Beyond Gender
  • Equality Network Friend For Life Award: Anne and Joe Patrizio
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Derek Ogg QC

The awards were organized by The Equality Network, Scotland’s national LGBTI equality and human rights charity.