Now Reading
Britain has elected the most LGBTI MPs in the world

Britain has elected the most LGBTI MPs in the world

With the final votes counted and the General Election over, Britain is officially the country with the highest number of out LGBTI MPs in the world.

At least 152 out LGBTI MPs ran for election on 7 May, with 27 of them being elected into the House of Commons today.

These numbers mean there is now one more out MP in the Commons than at the time of the dissolution of Parliament; the UK now also holds the highest number of out LGBTI MPs ever recorded in the world.

The new Parliament now includes 13 Labour LGBTI MPs, 12 Conservatives and two from the Scottish National Party (SNP).

Labour’s Peter Kyle (Hove) is one of seven fresh faces in the House of Commons, together with fellow Labour MPs Catherine Smith (Lancaster and Fleetwood), Gerald Jones (Merthyr Tydfil) and Wes Streeting (Ilford North).

The Conservative’s Ben Howlett (Bath) and the SNP’s Stewart McDonald (Glasgow South) and John Nicolson (East Dumbartonshire) have also been voted in for the first time.

In line with their disastrous result, the Liberal Democrats lost four of their sitting LGBTI MPs.

The winners were tracked on the night by GSN with the help of Professor Andrew Reynolds, director of the LGBT Representation and Rights Initiative at the University of North Carolina in the US. In an election where other pollsters got it spectacularly wrong, Reynolds’ predictions proved incredibly reliable.

Ruth Hunt, Chief Executive of Stonewall, welcomed the growing number of openly homosexual MPs in the UK.

‘Our Parliament is richer and stronger for the diversity of voices and experiences within it, however, it is certainly disappointing not to see any openly trans people represented amongst our MPs,’ she said in a statement.

‘Looking ahead, our MPs cannot forget the manifesto commitments they made to the LGBT community. We must see those words translated into tangible actions.

‘The Conservatives, alongside the Liberal Democrats, have had an impressive track record at Westminster over the last five years, and we look forward to working closely with the new government towards achieving equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans people, here and abroad.’

Here is the full list of out LGBTI MPs elected into the House of Commons today:

Nick Herbert (Arundel and South Down), Conservative

Ben Howlett (Bath), Conservative                           

Gordon Marsden (Blackpool South), Labour

Conor Burns (Bournemouth West), Conservative

Stephen Doughty (Cardiff South and Penarth), Labour

Steve Reed (Croydon North), Labour

John Nicolson (East Dumbartonshire), SNP

Ben Bradshaw (Exeter), Labour

Mike Freer (Finchley / Golders Green), Conservative

Stewart McDonald (Glasgow South), SNP

Nick Boles (Grantham and Stamford), Conservative

Peter Kyle (Hove), Labour

Wes Streeting (Ilford North), Labour

Cat Smith (Lancaster and Fleetwood), Labour

Stephen Twigg (Liverpool West Derby), Labour

Gerald Jones (Merthyr Tydfil/Rhymney), Labour

Iain Stewart (Milton Keynes South), Conservative

Nick Brown (Newcastle East), Labour

Stuart Andrew (Pudsey), Conservative

Crispin Blunt (Reigate), Conservative

Chris Bryant (Rhondda), Labour

Nigel Evans (Ribble Valley), Conservative

Alan Duncan (Rutland and Melton), Conservative

Clive Betts (Sheffield South East), Labour

David Kawczynski (Shrewsbury and Atcham), Conservative

Margot James (Stourbridge), Conservative

Angela Eagle (Wallasey), Labour