Now Reading
Cher reveals tracklisting for her ABBA covers album

Cher reveals tracklisting for her ABBA covers album

Cher appearing last month on the Late, Late Show with James Corden

Cher has revealed the tracklisting for her eagerly anticipated album of ABBA covers.

In a tweet posted last night she listed nine out of the ten tracks. They are as follows:

  1. Waterloo
  2. Gimme, Gimme, Gimme
  3. Dancing Queen
  4. Chiquititta
  5. The Name of the Game
  6. Mamma Mia
  7. One of Us
  8. Winner Takes It All
  9. SOS
  10. ???

Cher announced that she had recorded an album of ABBA songs a couple of weeks ago during promotional interviews for the Mamma Mia sequel.

The singer and actor has a role in the film. She plays Ruby Sheridan, the mother to Donna, played by Meryl Streep in the last film. In the new film, the younger Donna is played by Cinderella actress Lily James.

In the film, Cher sings Fernando, which is notable by not being mentioned in her tweet. Unless it’s the tenth mystery track that she has not listed, although fans have been quick to speculate on social media.

In a subsequent tweet, Cher said the album was due to be released in September. When one fan asks is she’s recording the ABBA track My Love, My Life, she responds ‘Vol 2’… leaving the door open to a follow-up if this album is a success.

Tweet from Cher about her ABBA album

New Mammia Mia proves a box office hit

Mamma Mia Here We Go Again opened at number two at the US box office over its opening weekend. It was pipped to the top spot by The Equalizer 2 (starring Denzel Washington). However, the ABBA-inspired sequel took a healthy $46million at the US box office – an improvement on the first Mamma Mia’s opening weekend of $28million.

Worldwide, it took just over $96million at the box office last weekend, over a production budget of $75million.

See also

How did Cher react to the very first gay men she ever met?

Björn Ulvaeus teases ABBA reunion, addresses whether there will be new album