Now Reading
Edie Windsor, Lee Daniels, Jim Parsons and Wentworth Miller lead OUT 100

Edie Windsor, Lee Daniels, Jim Parsons and Wentworth Miller lead OUT 100

Edie Windsor filed the lawsuit that gutted the Defense of Marriage Act and changed the lives of many gay and lesbian couples in the US.

On Wednesday (13 November), Out Magazine named the 83-year-old New Yorker the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement honor as part of its annual OUT 100 issue.

‘The next generation is so far advanced over us,’ Windsor says in the magazine. ‘I love that a lot of younger people now come out that would never have come out in the old days. Of course, they are born into a community already. They just have to discover it, whereas we were still building it.’

Windsor is one of four cover subjects with some copies featuring director Lee Daniels (Artist of the Year), actor Jim Parsons (Entertainer of the Year) and actor Wentworth Miller (Newsmaker of the Year).

The unveiling of its four cover subjects completes a week-long reveal by the magazine of its annual 100 LGBT figures.

Others profiled are: filmmaker John Waters, actor Victor Garber, author Bret Easton Ellis, actor Cheyenne Jackson, fashion designer Michael Bastian, author and editor David Ebershoff, event planner and fund raiser Josh Wood, radio host Stephanie Miller, fashion designer Becca McCharen, director and choreographer Rob Ashford, ad man Drew Beaver, fashion designers Shane Gabier and Christopher Peters, Donald Oliver, artist Bjarne Melgaard, director and actor Joe Mantello, drag performer and reality star Jinkx Monsoon, choreographer and dancer Kyle Abraham, artists Pierre et Gilles, actor Jonathan Groff, actress and comic Lea DeLaria, soccer pro Robbie Rogers, funny man Bruce Vilanch, writer A.M. Homes, actor Denis O’Hare, actor Rex Lee, and actor Maulik Pancholy.

Others include: Businessmen and policy leaders J.R. Badian, Harper Jean Tobin and Diego Sanchez, photographer and artist Ryan McGinley, director Travis Mathews, film fest director Kirsten Schaffer, UFC fighter Liz Carmouche, writer Choire Sicha, comic book artist Phil Jimenez, writer and TV host Mo Rocca, lawyer Kylar Broadus, writer Mike White, doctor Demetre Costas Daskalakis, playwrights Christopher Durang, Douglas Carter Beane, and Jonathan Tolins, photographer and chronicler Tom Bianchi, fashion designer Italo Zucchelli, film festival director Kim Yutami, transgender teen Activists Zachary Kerr, Jazz, and Calliope Wong.

Rounding out the list are: actor Sir Ian McKellen, advocate and author Janet Mock, homecoming queen Cassidy Lynn Campbell, director John Krokidas, basketball star Brittney Griner, filmmaker and producer Jeffrey Schwarz, actor Paul Iacono, playwright Tarell Alvin McCraney, journalist and author Frank Bruni, artist Stewart Uoo, male model Casey Legler, newlyweds Audrey Smaltz and Gail Marquis, filmmaker Antony Osso, director Chris Mason Johnson, political strategist Chad Griffin, medical pioneer Jack Andraka, author Benjamin Alire Sáenz, Ice Cream Entrepreneurs Bryan Petroff and Doug Quint, choreographer Chris Wheeldon, dancer David Hallberg, actor Guillermo Díaz, politician Brian Sims, mountaineer Cason Crane, pianist and writer Jeremy Denk, artists Lori Nix and Tabboo, advocate Walter Naegle, fashion designer Shayne Oliver, singer Steve Grand, musician Mary Lambert, statistician and writer Nate Silver, Roberta Kaplan, Hilary Rosen, actor and activist George Takei, fashion designer Thom Browne, actor Billy Porter, author and activist Kate Bornstein, and author and activist Laverne Cox.

Some of the selections were picked as groups.

Boy Scouts of America activists Greg Bourke, David Knapp and Pascal Tessier, Prop. 8 victors Kris Perry, Sandy Stier, Dustin Lance Black, Jeff Zarrillo and Paul Katami and the ABC Family series The Fosters Gregg Gugliotta, Bradley Bredeweg, Joanna Johnson, and Peter Paige.