Now Reading
First-ever Trans 100 List unveiled to shine spotlight on accomplishments and raise visibility

First-ever Trans 100 List unveiled to shine spotlight on accomplishments and raise visibility

Stephen Ira, the 21-year-old trans son of movie stars Warren Beatty and Annette Bening, is among the people selected for the inaugural Trans 100 List unveiled on Tuesday (9 April).

We Happy Trans and This Is H.O.W. created the list to shine a positive light on the work that is being done for the transgender community which is often underrepresented and plagued with negative stereotypes and tragic headlines.

‘The value of the work that is represented by the 100 people on this list is immeasurable,’ said Antonia D’orsay, executive director of This Is H.O.W., a non-profit organization based in Phoenix that is dedicated to bettering the lives of trans people.

D’orsay added: ‘These people demonstrate the diversity, the determination, and the incredible triumph of spirit that informs all trans people, no matter where they are. This is just a glimpse of what trans people can accomplish.’

The list is not ranked and was selected from more than 360 people nominated. A team of 17 people, representing a wide range of age, race and gender identity, researched, debated and voted on each nominee.

Here is the full list of honorees: Abigail Jensen, Aidan Key, Alexis Martinez, Allyson Robinson, Andre Perez, Andy Karol, Andy Marra, Anna Anthropy, Asher Kolieboi, Avory Faucette, Bamby Salcedo, Baylie Roth, Ben Hudson, Blake Alford, Bree Sutherland, Carter Brown, Cecilia Chung, Channyn Lynne Parker, Charlie Solidum, Che Gossett, Christina Kahrl, Cristina Herrera, Claire Swinford, Diego Sanchez, Drago Renteria, Dru Levasseur, Earline Budd, Eli Erlick, ellie june navidson, Elliot Fukui, Erin Armstrong, Harmony Santana, Harper Jean Tobin, Ida Hammer, Ignacio Rivera, Ja-briel Walthour, Jaan Williams, Janet Mock, Jenn Burleton, Jenny Boylan, Justus Eisfeld, Kate Bornstein, Kate Sosin, Katherine Cross, Katie Burgess Katy Stewart, Kay Barrett, Kelley Winters, KOKUMO, Dr. Kortney Ryan Ziegler, Kylar Broadus, Laverne Cox, Lincoln Rose, Loan Tran, Mara Keisling, Marisa Richmond, Marsha Botzer, Masen Davis, Matt Kailey, Mel Goodwin, Mia Tu Mutch, Michelle Enfield, Miss Major Griffin-Gacy, Monica Roberts, Monika Mhz, Namoli Brennet, Nicholas Love, Nick Teich, Niko Kowell, Nino Dorenzo, Ola Osaze, Owen Daniel-McCarter, Paisley Currah, Pauline Park, Phyllis Frye, Qwo-Li Driskill, Rebecca Allison, Rebecca Kling, Reina Gossett, Ruby Corado, Ryan Blackhawke, Ryka Aoki, S. Bear Bergman, Sadie Baker, Sasha Alexander Goldberg, Sassafras Lowrey, Sean-Michael Gettys, Shane Morgan, Shawn Demmons, Spencer Bergstedt, Stephen Ira, Susan Stryker, Tei Okamato, Tracie O’Brien, Trisha Lee Holloway, Trudie Jackson, Van Binfa, Van Ngyuen, Yoseñio V. Lewis, and Zander Keig.

GLAAD, which recently changed its name to be more inclusive of the trans community, is the inaugural sponsor of the list.

The video below was made by Ira, a junior at Sarah Lawrence College in New York, for We Happy Trans. The website celebrates the positive experiences of transgender people.