gsn-google gsn-google

Frank Ocean, GSN and Olympic athletes up for Stonewall Awards

Gay Star News joins DC Comics, Team GB Olympic athletes and Jessie J in prestigious UK gay awards nominees list

Frank Ocean, GSN and Olympic athletes up for Stonewall Awards

Britain’s leading gay rights organization, Stonewall, has announced the shortlist today (28 September) for its annual awards.

The ceremony on 1 November at the V&A museum in London is a glamorous highlight of the UK’s gay calendar.

The awards celebrate those who have made a positive impact on the lives of lesbian, gay and bisexual people in Britain in the last year.

Hip hop star Frank Ocean and comedian and broadcaster Sue Perkins are nominated for Entertainer of the Year, while Team GB athletes Claire Harvey, Carl Hester and Lee Pearson make the Sports Awards shortlist.

ITV’s Britain’s Got Talent and Alison Steadman’s BBC Four drama A Civil Arrangement are among the nominees battling it out for Broadcast of the Year.

Gay Star News has been nominated for Publication of the Year along with the London Evening Standard, Attitude gay mag, Tatler and DC Comics.

Journalist of the Year nominees include Hugo Rifkind from The Times, the Independent columnist Owen Jones, Guardian Weekend’s Lucy Mangan and Time Out’s Paul Burston.

Jackie Kay, Jeanette Winterson, and V G Lee are among the Writer of the Year nominees for Reality, Reality, Why Be Happy When You Could be Normal? and Always You, Edina.

Nominees for Politician of the Year include former UK equality minister Lynne Featherstone.

Winners from these categories will be chosen by a celebrity judging panel comprising broadcaster Alice Arnold, Channel 4 News Culture Editor Matthew Cain, former England rugby star Ben Cohen, author Val McDermid and UK Black Pride Managing Director Phyll Opoku-Gyimah.

Thousands of Stonewall supporters across Britain are currently voting for three other categories – Stonewall Community Group, Hero of the Year (supported by professional services firm PwC) and Bigot of the Year.

The Community Group chosen will win £5,000 ($8,100 €6,200) from sponsors The Inclusive Foundation.

Hero of the Year nominees include international pop star Jessie J for proudly reaffirming time and again that she is bisexual.

Ben Summerskill, Stonewall chief executive, said: ‘This year’s Stonewall Award nominees include Olympic and Paralympic heroes, regional, national and industry publications, popular TV shows and popular lesbian, gay, bisexual and straight entertainers.

‘The diversity of those nominated for an award demonstrates how gay equality is firmly embedded in 21st-century British life. That’s a real cause for celebration.’

Scott Nunn, director of GSN, said: ‘Woohoo! It is an absolute honor to be nominated for such a prestigious award from such a widely respected organization alongside an incredibly impressive shortlist.

‘Our whole team around the world is delighted and we want to thank our readers, clients, supporters and friends for making GSN a success.’

The seventh annual Stonewall Awards ceremony takes place on 1 November at the V&A in London. Tickets are £186 ($300 €233). To book your ticket, click here.

The full shortlists:

Broadcast of the Year – supported by London Women’s Clinic

  • A Civil Arrangement (BBC4)
  • Britain’s Got Talent (ITV1)
  • Long Lost Family (ITV1)
  • One Born Every Minute (C4)
  • All Star Mr & Mrs (ITV1)

Entertainer of the Year

  • Evan Rachel Wood
  • Frank Ocean
  • Marcus Collins
  • Sue Perkins
  • Tom Wilkinson (The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel)

Journalist of the Year

  • Hugo Rifkind (The Times)
  • Owen Jones (The Independent)
  • Paul Burston (Time Out)
  • Sarah Garrett (g3 Magazine)
  • Lucy Mangan (The Guardian)

Politician of the Year

  • Iain Stewart MP
  • Lynne Featherstone MP & Lord Henley
  • Cllr Nick Forbes
  • Nicola Sturgeon MSP
  • Ruth Davidson MSP

Publication of the Year

  • Attitude
  • DC Comics
  • Evening Standard
  • Gay Star News
  • Tatler

Sports Award of the Year – supported by Barclays

  • Claire Harvey
  • Carl Hester
  • Lee Pearson CBE
  • Outdoor Lads
  • Rugby Football League

Writer of the Year – supported by Coutts

  • Jackie Kay (Reality, Reality)
  • Jeanette Winterson (Why Be Happy When You Could be Normal?)
  • Madeline Miller (The Song of Achilles)
  • Patrick Gale (A Perfectly Good Man)
  • V G Lee (Always You, Edina)

Got a news tip? Want to share your story? Email us .