Now Reading
Janet Jackson, Sam Smith, Cara Delevingne and Dua Lipa shortlisted for British LGBT Awards

Janet Jackson, Sam Smith, Cara Delevingne and Dua Lipa shortlisted for British LGBT Awards

  • Other nominees include Michelle Visage, Olly Alexander, Renée Zellweger and Suranne Jones.
Janet Jackson on her Unbreakable tour.

The British LGBT Awards has released its nominees shortlist today, including Janet Jackson, Sam Smith, Tyler the Creator and Cara Delevingne.

The annual ceremony in London on 29 May will also awards going to household name companies. IKEA, Coca-Cola and Under Armour have all made the shortlist.

Stars on the shortlist

An array of stars are up for awards. They include Killing Eve actress, Jodie Comer, RuPaul’s Drag Race UK favourite Michelle Visage, and world-famous singer Taylor Swift for the Celebrity Ally Award.

Meanwile Big Little Lies’ Zoë Kravitz and Queer Eye’s Jonathan Van Ness are in the running for the LGBT+ Celebrity award. 

The Sports Personality Award could go to former Welsh international rugby player Gareth Thomas, who came out as HIV positive in 2019. And transgender British racing car driver Charlie Martin is also on the shortlist.

Grammy-award winner Lizzo, non-binary artist Sam Smith and record-breaking Ariana Grande will battle it out alongside Lil Nas X, who came out as gay last June, for Music Artist of the Year.

Sarah Garrett MBE, British LGBT Awards founder, said the shortlist is ‘a really exciting mix of some of the world’s most deserving LGBT+ people’.

She added: ‘These awards shine a light on those who stand shoulder-to-shoulder with the LGBT+ community during uncertain and challenging times.

‘The nominees are all role models who have demonstrated an ongoing commitment to raising awareness of, or advancing, LGBT+ rights.’

The 2020 ceremony will be at the Brewery in Barbican, London on 29 May. The public can help choose the winners here.

The 2020 British LGBT+ Award nominees in full

Online Impact

Asifa Lahore
Barbie Ferreira
Brigette Lundy-Paine
Eugene Lee Yang
Gigi Gorgeous
Kat Cunning
Ncuti Gatwa
Rickey Thompson
Sufi Malik and Anjali Chakra
Travis Alabanza


Amanda Stenberg
Andrew Scott
Billy Porter
Cara Delevingne
Ezra Miller
Hanna Gadsby
Jonathan Van Ness
Lilly Singh
Olly Alexander
Zoë Kravitz

Celebrity Ally

Dua Lipa
Janet Jackson
Jodie Comer
The Jonas Brothers
Michelle Visage
Naomi Campbell
Patrick Stewart
Suranne Jones
Taylor Swift
Tom Holland

Music Artist

Ariana Grande
Christine & The Queens
Kim Petras
King Princess
Lil Nas X
Pabllo Vittar
Sam Smith
Tyler, the Creator
Years & Years

Broadcaster or journalist

Adele Roberts
Ben Hunte
Benjamin Butterworth
Edward Enninful
Joe Lycett
Matthew Todd
Nick Grimshaw
Steph McGovern
Susan Calman
Suzi Ruffell 

Sport Personality

Belle Brockhoff
Bethany Mead
Charlie Martin
Chris Mosier
Gareth Thomas
Gus Kenworthy
Kiera Hogan
Megan Rapinoe
Michael Gunning
Simon Haerinck

Media Moment

BBC’s Gentleman Jack tells the real-life story of Anne Lister.
Drag Race comes to the UK.
Mexican primetime television makes history with its first ever lesbian kiss on Amar a Muerte.
Queer couple wins MTV’s True Love or True Lies.
Netflix’s Sex Education diverse representation of LGBT+ characters and relationships.
Renée Zellweger stars as gay icon Judy Garland.
Strictly Come Dancing makes history with same-sex routine to Emeli Sande performance.
Netflix Tales of the City’s queer representation and casting.
Showtime premiers The L Word: Generation Q.
The CW’s Riverdale’s LGBT+ character development.

Charity or Community Initiative

Bi-Pride UK
Colours Youth Network
Elton John AIDS Foundation
Goal Diggers FC
London Gaymers
Mind Out
The Outside Project
The Proud Trust

Outstanding Contribution to LGBT+ Life

Amy Lamé
Berwyn Rowlands
Holly Greenberry
Ian Green
Ian Howley
Lord Waheed Alli
Marc Thompson
Sally Carr MBE
Sophie Cook
Tanya Compas

Corporate nominees

Brand or Marketing Campaign

Costa Coffee
Transport for London
Under Armour

Inspirational Leader

Belton Flournoy, Protiviti
Clare Coates, Barclays
David Levine, Disney
David Stone, Allen & Overy
Holly Dewsbury, Facebook
Jerry Daykin, GSK
Joana Monteiro, Google
John Elliott, Sainsbury’s
Rachel Higham, BT
Steven Friel, Woodsford Litigation Fund

Corporate Ally

Claire England, JLL
Ian Ritchey, Rolls-Royce
John Bernard, Aviva
Lynne McBurney, Arnold Clark
Mark McKenzie, Vodafone UK
Sharyn Case, ARUP
Sonia Sawula, Credit Suisse
Stephanie Smith, Allianz
Susan Allen, Santander
Wincie Knight, ViacomCBS Networks International

Diversity Hero

Alex Vowinckel, CMS Cameron McKenna Nabarro Olswang LLP
Bobbi Pickard, BP
Bruna Gil, LinkedIn
Christopher Kenna, Brand Advance
Deon Pillay, LGIM
Michael Burnham, State Street Global Advisors
Nicholas Johnson, Virgin Atlantic
Sophie Hunt, Adobe
Squadron Leader Catherine Lawson, Royal Air Force
Theresa Farrenson, Aon

Future Leader

Christina Peach, FleishmanHillard Fishburn
Ellis Lanyon, L’Oreal
Ian Gustav Ahlberg, Financial Times
Jamie Barrelll, Publicis Sapient
John Hutchinson, HomeServe
Marianne Cowie, Zurich Insurance
Michael Geeleher, Sony Playstation
Tom Stockton, MSB Solicitors
Nathan Jordan, Dyson
Robert Downer, Uber

Network Group

dbPride, Deutsche Bank
Havas Pride, Havas
Heathrow Airport Pride, Heathrow Airport
HSBC Pride Network, HSBC UK
Nestlé UK&I LGBT+ Network, Nestlé
Open&Out, Johnson & Johnson
Shine, PwC
TalkPride, TalkTalk
TSB LGBT+ Network, TSB
Unity, Cushman and Wakefield

Inclusive Employer or Company

Hyatt Hotels
Just Eat
Lloyd’s of London
Mace Group
Sky UK