gsn-google gsn-google

Meet the nominees for the Diversity in Media awards

Digital Pride, Sir Ian McKellen, Russel Tovey and Paris Lees among the nominees

Meet the nominees for the Diversity in Media awards
Diversity in Media awards 2017

The Diversity in Media awards are tonight (15 September) in London and the list of LGBTI nominees are endless.

The awards celebrate those who work to promote diversity across Britain’s media industries.

Among the nominees are Sir Ian McKellen, Russell Tovey, Gaydio, Lily Allen, Pride in London, Made in Chelsea star Ollie Locke and our very own Digital Pride collaboration with Smirnoff.

Awards co-founder Linda Riley said: ‘There is still much to do to ensure that every strand of British media accurately reflects the diversity of society but these awards are a great way to celebrate those who are already doing it. It has been wonderful to celebrate such inspirational role models.’

‘[It] celebrates what Pride means to all of us’

Celebrities up for Hero of the Year include singer Lily Allen, actor Ian McKellen, trans activist Fox Fisher, London mayor Sadiq Khan, comedian Lenny Henry, MP Ruth Davidson and broadcaster Gary Lineker.

Another major category is Journalist of the Year. It includes trans activist Paris Lees, Ben Henry, Caitlin Moran and Matthew Cain.

Scott Nunn, director of Gay Star News and co-founder of Digital Pride said: ‘The Smirnoff Digital Pride campaign tapped into our community’s creativity to celebrate what Pride means to all of us.

‘But whatever happens tonight, it’s an honor to be nominated against world class competition, which also includes several of our friends and clients.’

See the full list of nominees, with winners announced tonight.

Got a news tip? Want to share your story? Email us .




Privacy Preference Center


Necessary cookies help make a website usable by enabling basic functions like page navigation and access to secure
areas of the website. The website cannot function properly without these cookies.



Statistic cookies help website owners to understand how visitors interact with websites by collecting and reporting
information anonymously.

_ga, _gat, _gid, _pinterest_cm
_ga, _gat, _gid


Marketing cookies are used to track visitors across the website. The intention is to display ads that are relevant and engaging for the individual user and thereby more valuable for publishers and third-party advertisers.

_gads, fr, GoogleAdServingTest, IDE, impression.php/#, khaos, NID, pcs/activeview, pixel.gif, r/collect, rsid, test_cookie, tr
_gads, GoogleAdServingTest
fr, impression.php/#, tr
IDE, r/collect, test_cookie
khaos, rsid


Unclassified cookies are cookies that we are in the process of classifying, together with the providers of individual cookies.

_asc, _auc, _smb_api_session, address_bar_tracking, atrk.gif, ckid, cktst, gs_chn_id, gs_trk_id, gs_user_id, gsHideBar, LSW_WEB, ps/analytics, trackedUrl
_asc, _auc, address_bar_tracking, trackedUrl
_smb_api_session, _smb_api_session, gs_trk_id, gs_user_id, LSW_WEB
ckid, cktst, ps/analytics

Close your account?

Your account will be closed and all data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Are you sure?