gsn-google gsn-google

Moonlight receives five Dorian Awards from gay critics group

Kate McKinnon wins two awards including Artist of the Year

Moonlight receives five Dorian Awards from gay critics group
Moonlight tells the story of a gay teen's coming of age.

Moonlight was named Film of the Year today by The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association (GALECA).

The acclaimed film about three stages in a young, gay man’s life won five awards overall.

It was also named LGBTQ Film of the Year, received director and screenplay nods for Barry Jenkins and the best actor prize went to Mahershala Ali.

Moonlight cast member Trevante Rhodes, nominated for actor alongside Ali, was given the group’s Rising Star Award.

Other films winners: Viola Davis (Best Actress) for Fences; La La Land (Visually Striking Film of the Year); The Handmaiden (Foreign Language Film of the Year); Christine (Unsung Film of the Year);The Dressmaker (Campy Flick of the Year); and O.J. Made in America (Documentary of the Year).

In television categories, Transparent was named Comedy of the Year, LGBTQ TV Show and TV Actor (Jeffrey Tambor) for the third year in a row.

Sarah Paulson continued her awards season domination with the TV Actress prize for her performance in The People vs OJ Simpson: American Crime Story which also won for TV Drama of the Year.

Other television winners: Full Frontal with Samantha Bee (TV Current Affairs Show of the Year); The Real O’Neals (Unsung TV Show of the Year) and RuPaul’s Drag Race All-Stars (Campy TV Show of the Year).

Saturday Night Live star Kate McKinnon won two Dorian Awards.

Her haunting post-election performance of Hallelujah was voted TV Musical Performance of the Year and she tied with Hamilton’s Lin-Manuel Miranda for Artist of the Year honors.

The Wilde Wit of the Year award, named for the group’s patron saint Oscar Wilde) goes to the late Carrie Fisher.

It honors a performer, writer or commentator whose observations both challenge and amuse.

John Waters had previously been announced as GALECA’s latest Timeless Star honoree.

The award is the group’s affectionate career achievement honor that in the past has gone such performers as Jane Fonda, Sir Ian McKellen, George Takei, Lily Tomlin, Betty White and Cloris Leachman.

Waters said in a statement: ‘A Timeless Star? Wow! Does that mean good-old or crazy-new? Either way, I’m thrilled and honored to be called a star no matter which side of the camera I choose to be on.’

GALECA is comprised of comprised of over 170 film/TV critics and entertainment journalists across the US, Canada and the UK.

Got a news tip? Want to share your story? Email us .