Now Reading
Sandi Toksvig and boxer Nicola Adams among Diva Award winners

Sandi Toksvig and boxer Nicola Adams among Diva Award winners

Diva Award ceremony

Diva magazine hosted its annual awards ceremony in London this evening. The event took place at the Hilton Waldorf in central London

Among those named as winners were Sandi Toksvig, who took home the Broadcaster of the Year award. Toksvig took has had a consistent presence on UK TV and radio since the 1980s. She took over presenting duties of the Great British Bake Off when it moved from the BBC to Channel 4 last year.

Although unable to be present to collect the award, Toksvig recorded a video message, saying it was a ‘particular honor’ to win.

Other winners included boxer Nicola Adams (Sports Personality of the Year), Dawn Butler MP (Ally of the Year), Dr Elly Barnes MBE (Activist of the Year) and Heather Peace (Entertainment Personality of the Year).

The evening was hosted by Rachel Shelley.

In a statement, Linda Riley, founder of Barclays DIVA Awards said: ‘The DIVA Awards is a fantastic event that honours those who are committed to raising awareness for the lesbian, trans and bisexual communities.

‘We’re proud of everyone who won big tonight and all of the shortlisters involved – each and every one of them make a difference to the LGBTQ+ community.’

Labour Party Leader attends

Jeremy Corbyn, Leader of the Labor Party, was also in attendance and seen here in this video posted by Diva.

Rosie and Rose with Jeremy Corbin

Posted by DIVA Magazine on Friday, 8 June 2018

He presented Ally of the Year to Butler, a fellow Labour MP and member of the Shadow Cabinet. Corbyn said he was very proud to present the award to her, and that she has always championed LGBTI rights ‘in our country and around the world’.

Butler, in her acceptance speech, said she’s going to keep the award on her desk.

She also added that whenever she goes to Corbyn, about the ‘kick the arse of the Tories… he says “go for it”‘.

GSN staffer Charlie Mathers with Jeremy Corbyn
GSN journalist Charlie Mathers with Corbyn | Photo: Provided

Recognition for LGBT rights

Hannah Bardell, a member of the Scottish National Party, won Politician of the Year.

When asked by GSN if she expected her win, she had this to say: ‘No, I really wasn’t. Although I did put my lipstick on at the last minute just in case and then was pleasantly surprised. It was a really tough field, there are some incredible politicians.’

Hannah Bardell at the Diva Awards
Bardell giving her speech | Photo: Provided/GSN

As for what the win means, Bardell appreciates the recognition.

‘For me it means that there’s recognition that I’ve stood up for LGBT rights, which I have tried to do since I got elected. I didn’t actually come out until just after I was elected in 2015. It’s still new for me, but I was very clear at the time that whilst I didn’t have to say anything, I wanted to. As a woman and an LGBT woman, you’re a role model, whether you like it or not, and it’s important to embrace that.

‘LGBT people face discrimination and we have to stand up for them.’

‘Stay angry’

Trans woman and activist Charlie Craggs accepted the award for Milli-on-air Rising Star of the Year.

Craggs accepting her award
Craggs accepting her award | Photo: Provided/GSN

She used her speech to remind people of the 2017 Grenfell Tower Fire and said her best friend died in the fire.

‘Stay angry,’ she concluded.

The full list of winners of the Barclays Diva Awards

Outnews Global Journalist of the Year 2018:

Winner: Emily Reynolds

Radio Diva Politician of the Year 2018:

Winner: Hannah Bardell MP

Barclays Diversity Champion of the Year 2018:

Winner: Francesca Harris

Jackdaw Media Author of the Year 2018:

Winner: Kiki Archer

Royal Navy Sports Personality of the Year 2018:

Winner: Nicola Adams

PWC Business Leader of the Year 2018:

Winner: Dawn Airey

The Centre For Reproductive & Genetic Health Ally of the Year 2018:

Winner: Dawn Butler MP

Milli-on-air Rising Star of the Year 2018:

Winner: Charlie Craggs

My G Work LGBT Network Group of the Year 2018:

Winner: Barclays – Spectrum Network

Bloom & Cadogan Activist of the Year 2018:

Winner: Dr Elly Barnes MBE

Lesbian Box Office Inspirational Role Model of the Year 2018:

Winner: Sophie Ward

P&G Community Champion of the Year 2018:

Winner: Sally Edwards

Heathrow Entertainment Personality of the Year 2018:

Winner: Heather Peace

Brand of the Year 2018:

Winner: Tesco

Pride In London LGBT Series/Storyline of the Year 2018:

Winner: Holby City

DIVA Music Festival Musician of the Year 2018:

Winner: Lucy Spraggan

UK Black Pride Online Influencer of the Year 2018:

Winner: Rose & Rosie

Emerald Waterways Broadcaster/Presenter of the Year 2018:

Winner: Sandi Toksvig

DIVA Choice Award 2018:

Winner: Jacquie Lawrence

DIVA Hall of Fame 2018:

Winner: Horse McDonald

See also

Evan Davis, Clare Balding and Sandi Toksvig speak out on gender pay gap scandal at BBC