Now Reading
Who is on the shortlist to win a European Diversity Award?

Who is on the shortlist to win a European Diversity Award?

New BBC Newsnight presenter Evan Davies is expected to win big at the European Diversity Awards.

The gay journalist is among the many names hoping to win one of the coveted awards.

Jane Hill, a BBC newsreader, will host the awards on 2 October in London.

‘’The European Diversity Awards recognize the efforts of people and organisations who are building a society across Europe which embraces all citizens,’ she said.

‘I’m proud to be taking part and highlighting some of the excellent work that is being done to make a lasting difference.’

See who is in the running to win an award below:

Campaigner of the Year

  • Tim Sigsworth – Chief Executive, The Albert Kennedy Trust
  • Igor Kochetkov – LGBT Rights Activist
  • Joel Bedos – International Coordinator, IDAHO Committee
  • Chris Morgan – Diversity Leader, UK financial services industry
  • Nikolai Baev – LGBT Rights Activist
  • Edward Lord O.B.E – Chairman of the ASA Group Board
  • Tracey Ford – Founder, JAGS Foundation
  • Glenn Anderson – LGBT Rights Activist

Community Project of the Year

  • Croydon Council
  • Chase Against Crimes of Hate
  • Pink Therapy
  • Spider-y
  • St Philips Centre
  • Out Now Global
  • Channel 4 Television
  • West End Women’s and Girls’ Centre

Champion of the Year

  • Colin Campbell Austin – Head of Talent & People Development, Telegraph Media Group
  • Aongus Hegarty – President, Dell EMEA
  • Monste Montaner – Head Group Quality Operations, Novartis
  • Mark MacKenzie MBE – Capability Development Specialist, Transport for London
  • Robin Elias – Managing Editor/Head of Diversity ITN News
  • Funke Abimbola – UK Managing counsel, Roche
  • Mark Anderson – Managing Director at Virgin Holidays
  • Andy Woodfield – PwC Partner, Leadership Coach & Mentor, UK Lead for GLEE @ PwC

Journalist of the Year

  • Guy Lynn – BBC London TV News
  • Evan Davies – English economist, journalist, and presenter for the BBC
  • Carmel Crimmins – Senior Financial Services Writer, Thomson Reuters
  • Paraic O’Brien – Reporter, Channel 4 News
  • Matt Frei – Europe Editor and Presenter, Channel 4 News
  • Ade Adepitan MBE – British television presenter and wheelchair basketball player
  • Sima Kotecha – BBC Reporter, Today programme
  • Elena Klimova – Founder, Children 404

Most Inclusive Employer of the Year

  • Volkswagon
  • Astrium France
  • Ekvalita
  • Waitrose
  • Maersk
  • Deloitte
  • Nestle in France

Marketing Campaign of the Year

  • Men Get Eating Disorders Too
  • Coming out – Russia
  • NHS Employers
  • Straight Alliance for LGBT Equality
  • Channel 4 / 4Creative – Gay Mountain
  • Ditch the Label
  • Barclays
  • Stonewall

Company of the Year

  • Royal Air Force
  • Sodexo
  • Carrefour Group
  • Hilton
  • Philips
  • FDM Group
  • Brown-Forman Brands
  • Volvo Group

Outstanding Employee Network Group of the Year

  • Diversability Support Network (NORVATIS)
  • The Simmons & Simmons LGBT Network
  • L&Q’s Spectrum network group
  • EY Women’s Network
  • WISE Employee Resource Group (DELL)
  • BNP PARIBAS – Parents & Carers Network
  • Tesco – Out at Tesco

Charity of the Year

  • Coming out
  • Just Different
  • RehabCare
  • BRASS – Befriendng Refugees and Asylum Seekers
  • Accessible Italy
  • Diversity Role Models
  • The Albert Kennedy Trust
  • CareTrade Charitable Trust

Inspirational Role Model of the Year

  • Louis-Georges Tin – Founder of Paris-based IDAHO Committee
  • Russian Open Games by the Russian LGBT Sports Federation, chair Elvina Yuvakaeva
  • Lt Cdr Sam Truelove – Royal Navy
  • Reverend Stephen Sorby – Railway & BTP Chaplain
  • Sophie Ward – Actor
  • Rishi Madlani – RBS Rainbow Network UK Chair
  • Caroline Murphy – LGBT Rights Activist
  • Kate Nash OBE – Kate Nash Associates

Hero of the Year

  • Councillor Rabina Khan – British writer independent politician, councillor for Shadwell
  • Russian Open Games by the Russian LGBT Sports Federation, chair Elvina Yuvakaeva
  • Robin Elias – Managing Editor/Head of Diversity ITN News
  • Magnus Bergland – Accessibility Director, Scandic Hotels
  • Edward Lord O.B.E – Chairman of the ASA Group Board
  • Rachel Gadsden – Artist
  • Joan Pons Laplana – Nurse, Care Maker Regional Coordinator for Yorkshire and Humber, NHS Change Day Lead Facilitator for East Midlands
  • Francesca Martinez – Stand-up comedian and actress

Diversity Team of the Year

  • NHS Employers
  • Naval Service Diversity & Inclusion Team
  • Royal Air Force
  • BBC Expert Women campaign team
  • Centro
  • Philips
  • Phoenix Project
  • Clydesdale Bank – Vibrant LGBT Support Network

Supplier Diversity Program of the Year

  • Elly Barnes – CEO and Founder of ‘Educate and Celebrate’
  • [email protected]
  • IBM
  • Johnson & Johnson
  • Cummins
  • Coming out
  • The TV program “Karakia”
  • CareTrade Charitable Trust