Now Reading
Who will win the 2016 European Diversity Awards?

Who will win the 2016 European Diversity Awards?

Bisexual boxer Nicola Adams in her moment of Olympic triumph.

Olympic boxer Nicola Adams, Vicky Beeching and BBC journalist Jane Hill are among the LGBTI heroes nominated in the 2016 European Diversity Awards.

The final shortlist (see below) contains LGBTI champions and allies from business and campaigning.

Gay former singer, Beeching, now a theologian, is nominated as an Inspirational Role Model of the Year.

She’s up against writer, director, actor and trans campaigner Jake Graf in that category.

And competing against them both is Xavier Bettel, the gay Prime Minister of Luxembourg.

Coca-Cola, Adidas and Barclays are among the brands who make the shortlist.

But there are a host of less-well-known LGBTI nominees in the running for awards. These include UK trans children’s charity Mermaids and Italian politician and LGBTI activist Ivan Scalfarotto.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at London’s Natural History Museum on 29 November.

Awards founder Linda Riley said: ‘Even after Brexit, it is important that we continue to celebrate the achievements of businesses and business leaders from Europe.’

European Diversity Awards shortlist:

Journalist of the year:

  • Jane Hill: BBC News, Journalist and newsreader
  • Erika Jones: BBC See Hear, Presenter
  • Lauren Hall: ITV News, Reporter
  • Nikki Fox: BBC News, Disability correspondent
  • Tom Knight: Gay Times, Author
  • Saba Salman: Guardian, Freelance social affairs journalist
  • Michael Obert: German journalist and author
  • Rokhaya Diallo: Journalist, filmmaker and activist

Inspirational Role Model of the Year:

  • Vicky Beeching: Theologian, presenter and writer
  • Sophie Walker: Leader, Women’s Equality Party
  • Jake Graf: Writer, director, actor and trans campaigner
  • Rob Davey: Thomson Reuters, senior director, global services
  • Alysia Silberg: UN Global Champion for Women’s Empowerment in Entrepreneurship, Founder and COO of Acceleforce
  • Tom Shropshire: Partner, Linklaters LLP
  • Angela Peacock: PDTglobal, chair
  • Xavier Bettel: Prime Minister of Luxembourg

Employee Network Group of the Year:

  • At Kearney: Women’s Network
  • Deloitte: Multicultural Network
  • RBS: Focused Women’s Network
  • Shell UK: enABLE Network
  • Metlife: Gay, Lesbian, Transgender Associates and Allies Ireland
  • Ilunion, Spain: Fundación ONCE
  • The John Lewis Partnership: UNITY, BAME
  • University of Bradford: n-able, Disabled Staff Network

Supplier Diversity and Inclusion Programme of the Year:

  • Sodexo
  • Intel
  • Monsanto
  • IBM Switzerland
  • Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors
  • Johnson & Johnson

Hero of the Year:

  • Funke Abimbola FRSA: General Counsel, ROCHE
  • Nicola Adams MBE: Olympic Boxing Champion
  • Dr Helena Dalli: Minister for Social Dialogue, Consumer Affairs and Civil Liberties, Malta
  • Mohammed Zafran BEM: Founder, All For Youth and Community
  • Chloe Allen: Guardsman, British Army
  • Ellie Simmonds OBE: British Paralympic Champion

Marketing Campaign of the Year:

  • Tastes of the World: PHD UK and OMG Ethnic for Sainsbury’s
  • H&M: She’s a lady
  • EDF Energy: Pretty CuriousSTEM
  • L’Oreal: #YoursTrulyBAME
  • CONDIVIDILOVE: Italian LGBT acceptance
  • Adidas: Pride Pack LGBT
  • Pride in London: #nofilter

Diversity Team of the Year:

  • Diageo: Diversity and inclusion executive collaborate workgroup
  • Royal Air Force: Diversity team
  • BNP Paribas: P&C network
  • Deutsche Bank
  • Edge Foundation
  • Coca-Cola European Partners

Campaigner of the Year:

  • Mariela Baeva: Human Rights and Social Inclusion Campaigner
  • Lee Marshall: Director, Ben Cohen Foundation
  • Khakan Qureshi: Founder, Birmingham South Asian’s LGBT
  • Scott Barclay: BBC & STV Panelist
  • Bisi Alimi: Nigerian gay activist in the UK
  • Ivan Scalfarotto: Italian politician and LGBTI activist
  • Jonathan Andrews BCA: Disability Campaigner
  • Elżbieta Łukacijewska: MEP, Poland

Charity of the Year:

  • Kick it Out
  • The Katie Piper Foundation
  • Mermaids UK
  • Stigamot Iceland
  • Bag Books
  • Dementia UK

Company of the Year:

  • Didlaw
  • Manchester City Football Club
  • Enterprise Rent a Car
  • Axfoods
  • Accenture
  • GlaxoSmithKline
  • Novartis
  • Barclays

Community Project of the Year:

  •  Refugee Community Kitchen
  • HyperFusion Theatre Company
  • Liverpool Signing Choir
  • European Federation of National Organisations Working with the Homeless
  • BiUK
  • Strengthening Families, Strengthening Communities parenting programme

Diversity Champion of the Year:

  • Daisy Reeves: Partner, banking, BLP Law
  • Mark Gossington: Partner, PwC
  • Cynthia V Davis: CEO, BAME Recruitment Ltd
  • Philip Bourchier O’Ferrall: Senoir vice president, VIACOM
  • Michael Cole Fontayn: Executive vice president, chairman of Europe, Middle East and Africa, BNY Mellon
  • Will Fox: Co-chair of FLAGG, FCO
  • Tunji Akintokun: Director, Cisco Systems
  • Tim Jarman: Assistant director, diversity and inclusiveness, EY

Head of Diversity of the Year:

  • Mitra Janes: Head of diversity and inclusion, DLA Piper
  • Louisa Woods: NomuraHead of diversity and inclusion, EMEA: Nomura
  • Siri Nomme: Head of diversity and inclusion, Norton Rose Fulbright
  • Simone Pound: Head of equalities, PFA
  • Anne Foster: Head of diversity and inclusion, House of Commons
  • Birgit Neu: Global head of diversity and inclusion, HSBC
  • Maria Angelica Perez: Global head of diversity and inclusion, Ericsson
  • Sarah Kirk‎: Global diversity and inclusion director, Page Group
  • Stephanie Oueda Cruz: Associate director, diversity and inclusion, Coca-Cola European Partners